Umane is an independent philanthropic association. We coordinate and foster initiatives to support the system’s development, improve health conditions, and foster healthfulness in a collaborative effort to improve the Brazilian population’s quality of life.

Based on the belief that health is a social value that must be integrated into our daily lives,
Umane’s work focuses on fighting against non-communicable diseases (NCDs) that result from different social and conditioning factors and preventable risk factors, such as smoking, harmful consumption of alcohol, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate diet.

With a new name and a new brand created in 2020, Umane was born from a legacy.
Our work upholds the century-old ideal of excellence in health care at Hospital Samaritano — founded in the capital of São Paulo in 1894 — and the efforts of the Samaritano Association, a philanthropic entity maintained by an endowment created when the hospital was sold in 2016.

In 2021, Umane supported 13 health-fostering and disease prevention initiatives.
These projects were run with 38 of our partners: implementing and governmental partners and co-financiers.


Foundation of Hospital Samaritano in São Paulo, located in the Higienópolis neighborhood, the fruit of Jose Pereira Achao’s dream and immigrants who mobilized for a more democratic and religion-free health care service.



Leveled up. We stopped being a “charity hospital” and became a modern, structured medical-hospital institution.

Established our Philanthropy Committee. The hospital formed the Philanthropy Commission, comprising directors and doctors. Partnerships emerged with other health care entities, such as the Disabled Children Assistance Association (AACD).



Created the Samaritano Association's Multi-Assistance Program (AMAS) with a scheduled care set-up for patients with low and medium pathologies in Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, and Gynecology.

We received the title of Hospital of Excellence and formed a partnership with the Brazilian Unified Health System (SUS). 1st accreditation by the Joint Commission International as “1 of the 6 Hospitals of Excellence in São Paulo,” a title that identifies institutions recognized by the Ministry of Health for meeting the requirements for having projects that support the SUS.



Created the Samaritano Association. We have gone from a hospital to a philanthropic fund focused on health, from executors to enablers. We are no longer limited to São Paulo and serve the entire country as an assisting philanthropy within the hospital scope, practicing impactful philanthropy with results in the community.

Umane is born, the Samaritano Association gets a new name and brand, better representing its positioning and practices.



Support transformative disease prevention and health-fostering initiatives that impact the quality of life of Brazilians.


To be a reference in private social investment in the health care area in Brazil.


We want to ensure that philanthropic activities in health and life sciences are impartial and transparent. We are exclusively committed to improving the health of Brazilians.



Philanthropy Committee

Erik Cavalcante
George Osborn
Hiran Castello Branco
Januário Montone
Lorraine de Matos
Marco Mattar
Ricardo de Oliveira
Ricardo Leonardos
Rogério Rabelo
Vivien Rosso

Finance and Investment Committee

André Reginato
Geoffrey Cleaver
George Kerr
Gert Wunderlich
Guido Oliveira
Guilherme Prado
Marco Mattar
Ricardo Leonardos

Nominations Committee

Arthur Buzatto
George Osborn
Gert Wunderlich
Jairo Loureiro
Marco Mattar
Renata Filippi Lindquist
William Bennett

Compliance, Governance, Audit, and Ethics Committee

Fernando Meira
Gustavo Mattedi
Hiran Castello Branco
Joice Toyota
Maria Helena Pettersson


Adrian Mackenzie

Alasdair Kerr

Alastair Howarth Hilary Steel

Alison Hilary Steel

Andrew John Pacey

André Reginato

Arthur Buzzato

Bettina Walker

Brian J. Busson

Carolina Dupont-Liot

Cristina Anne Betts

Derek T. Barnes

Derrick Isaac Marcus

Douglas Munro

Eduardo de Campos Queiroz

Farrer J.P. L. Pallin

Fernanda Hoefel

Fernando de Barros Barreto

Geoffrey David Cleaver

George Kerr

George Robert Osborn

Gert Wunderlich

Guilherme Prado

Hiran Castello Branco

Ian Henry Pacey

Ivan Ferraretto

Ivan Francis Noronha

Jairo Eduardo Loureiro


Jairo Loureiro Filho

John Philip Lloyd

José Antonio de Lima

José Eduardo Krieger

Lorraine de Matos 

Luiz Gustavo Mattedi

Luiz Peccioli

Marco Antonio Cattini Mattar

Maria Helena Pettersson

Marina Medley de Sá

Mark Moran

Matthew Govier

Maurício Ceschin

Philippe Krinker


Renata Filippi Lindquist

Ricardo Barbosa Leonardos

Robert Donald Filshill

Rogério Rabelo

Sean Patrick Hutchinson

Sergio Silva Freitas

Susan Pallin

Thomas Leon Goman

Timothy Altaffer

Vivien Rosso

William E. Bennett




For more details on our activities and results, we release a report each year.
Click on the file to download.